Connecticut Data Breach Law

January 2, 2018

How Can We Help?

Connecticut Data Breach Law

You are here:
< Back

Connecticut Fines, Penalties, Requirements

In the state of Connecticut, any business that experiences a data breach is required to investigate the likelihood that personal information will be misused. Businesses are legally required to notify affected Connecticut residents as soon as possible by mail, telephone, or electronic means. If the security breach affects more than 500,000 people or the cost of notification exceeds $250,000, other means of notification can be used (e.g., public service announcements). When notifying affected residents, the attorney general must also be notified. See below for details on CT’s data breach laws.

Name of Law / Statute Banking Law of Connecticut
Definition of Protected Information Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these “data” elements: SSN; driver’s license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or access codes.
Who Is Subject to Law? Any person or business conducting business in the state who licenses or maintains PI in the course of business
Notification of Consumers? Yes, unless determination of no harm by business AND government agency in conjunction
By what means? Written, electronic, or phone
Substitute Notice Threshold? If cost of notice >$250,000 or involves >500k residents
Notification of authorities / regulators required? Yes, within same timeframe as to consumers
By what means? Email
Regulatory Fines Yes
Credit monitoring requirement? No
Private lawsuits allowed? No
Private damages cap? N/A
Regulatory actions allowed? N/A
HIPAA Compliance exemption? N/A
Other  (e.g., timeframe) Law does not apply if PI was encrypted or otherwise secured
Link to complete law

Read the full text of Connecticut’s data breach law for more